Reviews: Kauai Vacation Rental Cottage - Hale Kokio

SLICE OF HEAVEN IN PARADISE

Lynn G. (Source Review:VRBO Stayed:June 2019)*****

This little cottage is a special retreat; quiet and peaceful and private. It is very well maintained, well-stocked and convenient to all things on the North Shore. It has everything you need for a trip to the beach, or a barbecue or a nice rest on the lanai. We loved our stay here! Hopefully, we will get to return soon. We highly recommend this slice of heaven in Paradise.

06/13/2019 at 10:36 PM

WONDERFUL KAUAI NORTH SHORE

Robert W (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: May 2019)*****

Hale Kokio is located in a park-like setting, surrounded by tropical greenery, expansive lawns and with trees of all kinds on the property, including papaya, lychee and macadamia. Kaua'i was the third island we visited on our vacation, and we found the climate there to be a little cooler than on the other islands. Trade winds blew through the house so, except for one day, the air conditioner went unused. The three families of wild chickens that visit the property regularly kept us amused. The large lanai was a ideal place for morning coffee and evening meals. We had the pleasure of meeting Rob, one of the owners of Hale Kokio, and he provided us with helpful information about the local farmers' market and some other areas of interest that we would have otherwise missed. We're already contemplating a return to Hawaii in the future. Because we fell in love with the north shore of Kaua'i, Hale Kokio would be our destination.
 

WOW

Tammie M. (Source Review: Google Stayed: March 2019)*****

WOW!! How to even begin to explain how wonderful this place is! This cottage is ideally located for really seeing anything on Kauai. It is a very short drive to all the wonderful things to see and do on the north and east sides of the island. But even a drive to other parts of the island would just make for a nice day trip. But back to the cottage itself....it is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed! We cooked dinners most every night at the cottage either in the well stocked kitchen or on the Weber gas grill outside. We even managed to use the slow cooker one day. :) Every detail has been thought of here....from the wonderful bedding to the soft towels to the easy opening/closing windows all with screens intact. The grounds are truly a sight to see! Every day we enjoyed listening to the variety of birds and other animals. The beautiful fruit trees all around, and a nice hammock to enjoy it all. We also made good use of the hot tub after our hiking and snorkeling endeavors. I would highly recommend this place for your stay! It was just the perfect size for the 2 of us. Enjoy the magical fairy lights on the deck at night. I'm ready to go back already!! Thanks for allowing us to experience true Hawaii!

ROMANCE FOUND AT ISLAND RETREAT

Jim H (Source Review: VRBO Stayed:April 2019)*****

We truly enjoyed our stay at this charming little country cottage. We had all the comforts of home, as well as a beautiful back yard to relax and enjoy. This area of the island has lots to do, and many places to explore. We will certainly be back to Hale Kokio to pick where we left off

RELAXING HONEYMOON: Romantic and Magical 100% True

Kate K (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: April 2019)*****

Hale Kokio is described as a magical, romantic cottage and we found that to be 100% true! We loved our 8 day stay exploring the beauty of the North Shore of Kauai. I would highly reccomend this cottage to anyone looking to fully relax into their trip. Having a full kitchen was wonderful and we cooked our own breakfasts and ate them on the lanai most mornings before heading off to explore. The sounds of the birds and geckos, the flowers, the palm and fruit trees and the hammock all add to the wonderful ambience. You also feel very secluded, yet you are a short drive to the charming town of Kilauea. Another little thing I really enjoyed was the indoor shower that was surrounded on three sides by windows. You almost feel like you are outdoors. This place is full of charm and character.

BEAUTIFUL SETTING, EVEN IN THE RAIN

Mary M (Source: Review VRBO Stayed:February 2019)*****

 

This charming , well appointed cottage is a perfect, quiet spot to relax after an active day experiencing all that Kauai has to offer. The hot tub and hammock are welcomed additions to the Hale Kokio experience. Thank you for sharing this wonderful property with us.

AWESOME HONEYMOON GETAWAY

Caitlin B (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: November 2018)*****

This place was incredible! The grounds are so well taken care of and the little house was just perfect! We loved every moment we had there!

WONDERFUL PLACE

WHITNEY S (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: October 2018)*****

 

Wonderful place!

What an absolutely magical place to spend a week... Perfect cottage in a perfect setting. Looking forward to returning some day!

UNIQUE PLACE TO STAY ON NORTH SHORE KAUAI

Brian H: (Source: VRBO Stayed:August 2018)*****

Would highly recommend this plantation style cottage on the north shore of Kauai. Excellent location for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of the resort areas. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful landscaping, and it was so enjoyable to relax in the morning on the outside deck (covered) drinking coffee and listening to the wild birds sing. Also very much enjoyed the hot tub in the evening. The cottage is very well maintained and well appointed with tasteful furniture. They supplied snorkelling gear, boogie board, beach umbrellas, and deck chairs. Easy to drive to locations on the north end of the island, with light traffic (not like the Kapaa area). Would highly recommend.

OUTSTANDING NORTH SHORE COTTAGE

Richard R: (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: February 2018)*****

What a delightful place! Quiet, peaceful, relaxing, and private. It is clean, well maintained, tastefully furnished and nicely decorated. Excellent kitchen. Comfy bed. Large deck with hot tub. Beautifully maintained grounds. Responsive owners. What more can we say? This cottage is exactly what we were expecting, and more. Great north shore location, not far from the tourist centers of Hanalei, Princeville, and Kilauea, yet with the relaxed feel of old Hawaii. We spent a week at Hale Kokio and enjoyed it greatly. We certainly will return.

ONE OF THE BEST

Greg M (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: February 2018)*****

We have stayed at many VRBOs throughout the islands. This one is one of our favorites! The owners were very responsive to any questions. The cottage was clean and not lacking anything and very private. Great location and beautiful well maintained property. The hot tub was great after snorkeling, boating, hiking, and exploring as much of the island’s beauty as we possibly could in a day! Mahalo for sharing your cottage with us. A hui hou Kauai

COUPLE'S PARADISE

Robin B (Source Review VRBO Stayed: January 2018)*****

Hale Kokio really is a magical and romantic cottage for a couple to stay in while on the north shore. Tastefully decorated with 300 degree views of the lovely grounds, it had everything you could want for your vacation. Off to the many close-by beaches with beach chairs, towels, umbrella and a cooler - all available in the cottage. And returning at night for a dinner on the deck with a late night hot tub. Who could ask for more? We loved our stay and hope to return again!

RE-CREATING AT HALE KOKIO

Joyce M (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: January, 2018)*****

We had a wonderful time at Hale Kokio. It is a lovely private tropical refuge. The location is great for making short to full day trips exploring the many treasures the island has to offer. The home itself has everything you need and is absolutely charming. The hot tub is great after strenous hikes, before heading out again in the morning, and even for bird watching! We loved the large yard, beautiful flowers and fruit trees. It was a perfect holiday!

LOVELY COTTAGE, BEAUTIFUL & PRIVATE SURROUNDINGS, HELPFUL OWNERS

Nicole W (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: January 20180 *****

We absolutely loved our stay at Hale Kokio! It was a lovely place to call home, and the perfect base for our north shore adventures. We never found ourselves wanting for anything. The cooler and beach supplies were perfect for our daily hikes and ocean activities. We truly enjoyed waking up each morning to the natural sounds of the island, and breakfast on the lanai taking in the beautiful gardens and the company of chickens and geckos. Eleanor and Rob are a delight, and were exceptionally helpful during the planning process as well as once we arrived. Thank you! Our first morning on the island we stopped by a farmer's market in Kilauea upon Rob's suggestion, and it was great to be part of the local community. Mahalo for the wonderful holiday! We would stay at Hale Kokio again in an instant

PERFECT BUNGALOW FOR OUR GETAWAY

Terin (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: November 2017)*****

My husband and I spent 5 nights here for the first leg of our honeymoon. Such an amazing place! We don't care for crowded condos and large crowds of people...This place gave us the privacy we wanted and the ambiance of a true Island feel! The Deck was cozy, the small hot tub was perfect for an after hiking soak. I would definitely recommed staying here, and when we come back we will stay here again. Thank you!

AN ABSOLUTE OASIS ON THE GARDEN ISLE

Drew B (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: Oct 2017)*****

Hale Kokio made our stay on Kauai unforgettable. It’s location puts you in the perfect spot to explore the north shore like Hanalei or Princeville, but is also close enough to Kapa’a and Lihue that it doesn’t feel like a road trip. Rob left us flowers and fresh fruit for our arrival, and was so helpful in answering any of our questions. We had a few rainy mornings during our stay; standing on the lanai and watching the rain fall on the property was so blissful. Experience Hale Kokio for yourself if you can, we’re lucky to have them share this magical place!

OLD HAWAII AT IT'S BEST

Jacques G (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: Sept 2017)*****

A truly delightful experience enjoying the feel of old Hawaii with the peacefulness of natural surroundings. Close enough to major areas yet far enough to keep it peaceful. It could not have been a more delightful experience.

A THREE TIME WINNER

Rick&Denise S (Source review: MyKauaiCottage.com Stayed: July 2017)*****

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at Hale Kokio. Yes, this was our third visit to Hale Kokio and would not stay at any other place. Eleanor is most helpful in getting your set up for your stay.  Rob, Lisa and family are a delightful and most helpful if you  have any needs. The location is convenient, the grounds are beautiful.  The house is perfect for a couple.  We will be back again.

PRIVATE OASIS IN PARADISE

Steven C (Source review: Homeaway Stayed: September 2017)*****

We loved our time spent here. The grounds are immaculate, the cottage is clean and tasteful. The ample grounds provided privacy. It was a great base to explore the island. We picked and ate lilikoi and avocado from the trees, ate breakfast on the lanai each morning and took a soak in the hot tub each evening. We plan on coming back and will recommend to all our friends looking for a place on Kauai.

HEAVENLY!!

Catheryne H. (Source Review: VRBO Stayed: August 2017) *****

We absolutely loved our stay here. It is truly magical. From the shaded porch, to the fruit trees in the yard, to the charming bungalow, everything was perfect. We are so glad we chose to stay here the whole time and didn't split time with a condo on the ocean. Don't hesitate- book now!

IDYLLIC HIDEAWAY IN PARADISE

Alison F. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: August 2017)*****

Hale Kokio is a magical, serene hideaway in a perfect location for every adventure along the North Shore. Our days were filled with jungle hikes, waterfalls, and hidden beaches; and our nights at Hale Kokio were filled with quiet dinners on the lanai and restorative soaks in the hot tub. We loved exploring the enchanting grounds, and discovering different fruits and flowers at every turn. Can't wait to return! Mahalo!

A CLEAN, GREEN ROMANTIC HAVEN...

Margaret M. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: June 2015)*****

We're so glad we found this place! It suited us perfectly; the location was ideal and Hale Kokio itself was a gem. We enjoyed the seclusion, with the opportunity to wander around the beautifully landscaped grounds. As if that weren't relaxing enough, there was the hot tub to look forward to after a hard day at the beach!

The place was nicely furnished with everything needed. And I can't remember when I had slept so well. It was so quiet and dark at night, except that there were many more stars than we see at home.

We both highly recommend Hale Kokio to anyone who would like a respite from the daily hassles of everyday life, and who don't want the noise and hubbub of a resort.

WONDERFULLY PRIVATE

Emily O. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: June 2017)*****

Such a great cottage for anyone looking for a relaxing private getaway!

PERFECT KAUAI EXPERIENCE

William L. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: May 2017)*****

Hale Kokio embodies everything Kauai. Nature, tranquility, peacefulness, beauty...I could go on. It's a place you leave and then dream about. It's a place you wake up in the morning and decide which beach paradise to spend the day at. It's a place you come back to, grill a piece of fresh fish, relax in the hot tub, and then fall asleep to the sounds of nature. No, it's not right on the beach. On the other hand it's perfectly situated for short trips to the best of north and east side of the island offer. Truly a fantastic place with equally fabulous hosts.

COMFORTABLE STAY ON BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY

Heidi and Tim P. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: February 2017)*****

We loved our 7-night stay. Upon our arrival we discovered a gift of fresh fruit and tropical flowers. The house is very clean and had everything we needed. The deck is lovely and comfortable, with a great view of the garden. Our host, Rob, gave me a tour of the grounds and showed me all of his tropical fruit trees. I have a background in floristry and plant science and enjoyed the beautiful gardens very much. There are many beautiful birds in the yard as well. The only improvement would be a more comfortable bed, or at least a memory foam topper. I woke up very achy every day due to the uncomfortable mattress. I know that the host, Rob, is very interested in making the house comfortable and in making improvements. A new hot tub was delivered while we were there. I would love to stay here again sometime. (Note: A memory foam topper has been added)

AMAZING! BEAUTIFUL! ROMANTIC! LOVED IT!

Jacquelin R. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: October 2016)*****

As we drove up to the property I was filled with so much excitement I felt like a little kid getting presents on her birthday, clapping my hands and saying "yay"! I was amazed by how beautiful the property was and the perfect cottage that was hidden in a tropical forest that included flowers, fruit trees and plants that surrounds the cottage giving you privacy. The cottage is perfect for two people and it had all that we needed to make it our temporary home for 8 nights. Having a hot tub was a bonus and it was great to be able to use the beach chairs that was available for use. It was so helpful to have a washer and dryer at the cottage as well. It was perfect and we loved it.

WONDERFUL COTTAGE, GREAT LOCATION

Robert G. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: September 2016)*****

This cottage is the perfect size for one person or a couple. The grounds are lush and spacious. Location is perfect north shore spot within 15-20 minutes of both Hanalei and Kapaa. Cottage is well maintained and stocked with basic kitchen necessities. Owners provided excellent communication. Great alternative to condos or hotels.

LOVED IT!

April S. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: June 2016)*****

This property is amazing! My husband and I have stayed at many properties in the past and this one is a jewel. We loved coming home every evening to relax in the hot tub, after long days of hiking, snorkeling and exploring the beautiful beaches and tropical forests on the island. The shower is possibly the best I have ever experienced. The kitchen and bathroom are stocked well with towels, dishes, toiletries, cleaning products, etc. The grounds are kept clean and manicured. (We miss Peaches!) Rob and Lisa are friendly and helpful (Thanks again for the fresh coconut.)The house is small but perfect for two in love! It's location near the Kilauea Lighthouse is convenient for exploring the whole island. I would sell everything I own and move here in an instant to live forever in paradise….

BEYOND EXPECTATIONS!

Lisa C. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: January 2016)*****

My boyfriend and I came to Kauai for the first time and we can't wait to return. Hale Kokio was exactly what we were looking for. Something secluded, beautiful and perfectly located on the north side of Kauai. The house and property was a great landing spot after a long adventurous day. We used the hot tub nightly after long hikes and many water adventures. It was nice to relax while looking out at a tropical paradise and a star filled sky. We used the kitchen often to prepare meals and found everything you might need readily available. The washer and dryer were also a nice bonus. If you are looking for a vacation rental off the beaten path, then this is the place for you!

 

RECOMMENDED FOR: Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway

EVEN BETTER IN REAL LIFE

Megan M. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: September 2015)*****

Hale Kokio is a fantastic getaway. In our experience, many VRBO properties look less amazing in person than they do in photographs, but this idyllic cottage is an exception. Photographs can't do it justice. The house is lovely; well maintained, gorgeous lush gardens all around, romantic and airy interior floor plan, plenty of towels (and even laundry - yay!). We enjoyed being serenaded by the roosters, and we especially appreciated the hot tub. You might not expect to want a hot tub in Hawaii, but it did sometimes get cold enough, and we went on a few very strenuous physical adventures that left us very grateful for a place to soak after a long day. Hale Kokio was clean, tastefully decorated, and the sort of environment that invites retreat. We absolutely loved it. In terms of location, Hale Kokio is also the perfect mix of everything: a 5-10 minute drive from grocery stores, calm snorkel beach (Anini Beach Park - highly recommended), and good places for eating out. We drove a little farther to Hanalei on several occasions, and found Hale Kokio to be geographically ideal for exploring the places on the Kauai that interested us the most. It's a great fit for couples who are looking for a home base for exploring Kauai, and who aren't into hotels and beaches. For us, the beauty and serenity of the house was a wonderful and ongoing highlight of the trip as a whole. If we come back to Kauai in the future, we will definitely stay here again. Thanks to Eleanor, Lisa, and Rob for a smooth booking and check-in process!

 

RECOMMENDED FOR:  Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers ,Romantic Getaway

THE PERFECT HONEYMOON SUITE

Sara S. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: July 2015)*****

My husband and I stayed at Hale Kokio for our honeymoon and it was perfection. Quiet and private, with amazing views of tropical greenery. The cottage is so cute and has everything you could possibly need. Personal favorites were the hot tub and grill! We really appreciated the laundry machines too! The property owners/managers were very easy to work with and incredibly sweet. You can't beat the location! On such a small island, nothing is too far, but Hale Kokio was close to everything we needed. Absolutely recommend if you're a self-sufficient traveler who doesn't need a maid service. Pro-tip: Bring ear plugs. Roosters are all over Hawaii!

RECOMMENDED FOR: Sightseeing, Girls Getaway Adventure Seekers , Age 55+ ,Romantic Getaway

COULDN’T HAVE STAYED AT A BETTER PLACE

Kyle F. (Source Review: HomeAway Stayed: June 2015)*****

My wife and I had the opportunity to return to the beautiful island of Kauai to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We were looking for a quiet, private retreat where we could wake up slow and enjoy the natural beauty of the "Garden Isle". In my mind I thought that I had a pretty good idea of the property based on the pictures, but as soon as we pulled up, both my wife and I were COMPLETELY taken aback by the serenity of the Hale Kokio property. Not only was the rental house incredibly well kept with all of the amenities we would ever need, but the grounds surrounding the property were stunning and lent well to calm walks. Very private and very quiet--truly a spot we were able to relax. We are looking forward to when we can return.

RECOMMENDED FOR: Romantic Getaway

Please reload

© 2017 by wixcreate.com

Hale Kokio

4852 Waiakalua Street, Kilauea,

Kauai  96754, Hawaii

Tel. 808-828-1173

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

Contact us 

Eleanor phone:  914-610-5692  

Rob or Lisa:  808-828-1173

ellie@mykauaicottage.com